Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mo89_gw

Sundew question

mo89
17 years ago

I have had a sundew plant for a few months and recently was changing the soil when i noticed that there were little baby sundews growing under the soil from the roots. How should i go about removing these without hurting the plant?

Comments (3)

• mutant_hybrid
    17 years ago

Hi mo89,

I'm no expert, however; if your sundew is propagating itself from it's roots, it is likely fairly tolerant of root disturbance. If you want to keep the plantlets, I would advise to leave them there for a month or two until they grow larger and establish their own root systems.

If your plant is a D. adelae, a prolific root propagator, it will grow roots all over the pot and grow plantlets from them continuously. Most of the time, when they are ready to grow on their own, they will drop off during repotting. You could also cut them off with a razor blade, leaving plenty of root for the parent and the plantlets. In any case, let them grow a bit first. I had the same thing happen to my D. adelae and now the parent plant is dying (ending it's life cycle), but I have 10 new healthy plants that I separated and repotted about 2 inches from one another. Each had at least 4-5 inches of root system of it's own and some had to be cut free. All are still prospering despite how rough I had to be on them to separate them.

If your plant is not a D. adelae, I am not too sure, however; most sundews are fairly tolerant of root damage. I have a D. spatulata clump, another species that produces plantlets from root division, that had it's entire root system ripped off by accident, it survived and regrew it's roots within a month. Sundews are hard to kill from simply repotting and dividing them up.

Let us know what type of sundew you have and maybe someone will have a more conversant answer for you than I.

• petiolaris
    17 years ago