Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
suzycentri_gw

'Raising' Butterflies

suzycentri
13 years ago

I have lurked on this particular section for awhile. I have some butterfly plants and plan on putting in a butterfly flower bed next spring. So I'm a newbie and have a question about "raising" butterflies.

I've read about how some of you find caterpillars and put them in special containers, where they are able to do their thing. My question is...why do you do that? Are you protecting them from predators? Or is it because you want to watch the process? When do you release them, or do you? I've seen a (fabulous) picture of monarchs on a clothesline looking line, with a note that they will fly away after they dry.

So is it an attempt to help more live? I am a huge animal lover, and of course would like to see the process, but I am afraid that I will hinder the process. How do you know how much moisture and sunlight they need?

Comments (28)

• molanic
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Here is a link to a site that I really like that will answer a lot of your questions. I think the creator posts here too, but I cannot recall their name just now. It is specific to Monarchs, but there are links to info on other butterflies on the site as well.

Here is a link that might be useful: http://www.mymonarchguide.com/2007/05/raising-caterpillars.html

• butterflymomok
    13 years ago

Yes, Tdogmom (Sherry) does post here. She's a very busy lady, but she loves helping others raise butterflies. You can't go wrong following her directions.

BTW, welcome!

• suzycentri
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks! I'll check it out.

I found two very fat caterpillars this weekend, and my gut told me to keep them and watch them. But reality quickly said "you have no idea what you are doing. Let nature do it's thing." So I put them both on a birch tree. I felt like I should have put them on a willow tree, but I don't have one close.