Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thinkdirt

over wintering Brugs

thinkdirt
17 years ago

I have been doing Brugmansia for about 5 years now and the collection is getting quite large over the years. I have been over wintering in my basement, letting them go dorment and watering just enough to keep the roots alive and then I bring them back out in the spring and start the growing season all over again. I am in zone denial as I live in Ohio but the addiction to tropicals is an obsession I just can't break. LOL.

Anyway to my question, I just got a wonderful greenhouse and I thought about putting them all in the greenhouse for the winter, will they continue to grow because they will get too much light or will they go dorment HMMMMMMMMM . I just am getting so tired of dragging them to the basement, hard on the old back I am not a young person anymore.

JoAnn

Comments (36)

• karyn1
    17 years ago

Sounds familiar! lol I'm in 7 and most of my plants would rather be in 10. I use an unheated greenhouse as well as the garage and the brugs go dormant in both. I make my husband move the plants for me : )
    Karyn

• gardengrove_ac
    17 years ago