Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
keodark

Easier potting mix for citrus?

keodark
11 years ago

Hi all,

I'm a novice gardener, and I apologize for asking a question that has been asked many times before. I did do a lot of reading on these forums about mixes, and I have to say that despite what may be "better for the plant", I'm just not up to the task of maintaining Al's 5-1-1 or a similarly aerated mix for my citrus (three kinds of dwarf citrus and two avocados, destined for half wine barrel planters). I have a drip system in place, but the continual fertilizing, plus the difficulty of finding the ingredients (the guy at OSH looked at me like I had two heads when I asked for partially-composted redwood bark fines, and then tried to sell me bark nuggets) is just not something I'm up to right now.

So, for a large container (half 60-gal wine barrel planters, drilled) in Zone 9 (San Jose, CA) with full sun, and dwarf citrus that I'd like to only have to fertilize once in awhile and not repot until the barrel falls apart... what's my best bet for potting medium?

Thanks!

Comments (18)

• denninmi
    11 years ago

I just use ProMix regular with about 1 part sand per 3-4 parts mix. I don't really measure, just visually estimate it. Seems to work just fine, I've never had any problem with roots rotting. I assume ProMix is available nationwide, but if not, any other good soilless mix should work. I would, however, avoid the "moisture control" type mixes, I think they stay too wet. For the sand, I just buy bagged "play sand". Home Depot stores here carry the ProMix in 2 cu ft compressed bales for $13.97.

Here is a link that might be useful: This is what I use

• houstontexas123
    11 years ago

in your area, and climate, temps, etc. you can try Miracle Gro garden soil at about 70% and MG perlite at 30%. works well for me in Houston, full sun, hot summers, mild winters.

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    11 years ago