Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
soesoe_gw

Suggestions for grass border

Soesoe
18 years ago

Hello - I am new to gardening and have a couple of spaces on the backside of my house (Portland, OR) where I was thinking about putting some ornamental grasses. The two spaces are quite narrow, but long (3'X25' and 4'X15'). One space has a height restriction of about 4 feet.

I would also like to add a splash of color along with the grasses. Purple, orange or yellow are the colors I had in mind - any suggestions of what plants may work?

The locations face south and west, so there is plenty of sun.

See my pictures via the link below. Thanks for your thoughts :)

Here is a link that might be useful: Pictures of the space

Comments (11)

• pezhead
    18 years ago

I also live in Portland -- a little ways outside. I strongly suggest you take a field trip to Joy Creek Nursery and see their display garden. There you will find many grasses to view in their mature state.

I live quite close to Joy Creek and would be happy to set up a time for you to stop by and see the grasses and other plants in our yard as well. I currently have 50 plus varieties of ornamental grass in the yard and most are flowering right now. Let me know -- you can respond directly to my email if this is something you are interested in.

Another suggestion is to go to Powells and find a book called The Color Encyclopedia of Ornamental Grasses by Rick Darke. This has many excellent photos of different grasses.