Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gootziecat

Trailing and fragrant hoyas

gootziecat
17 years ago

Hi all,

I'm new to the hoya group. I purchased my first hoya, a "Ruba", about a week ago from Lowes. So far, I'm thrilled with it since it appears to be thriving and I have a major black thumb.

As time goes on, I'm sure I'll be asking a lot of questions but I have a couple right now. I prefer the trailing hoyas to the uprights (at least presently) and wish to collect those. I also require they be very nicely fragrant, the stronger and nicer, the better. I know the fragrant thing can be illusive, and was covered earlier, but not the combination.

Also, I prefer the hoyas to be rather short, rather than allowing them to trail for feet. From what I've read, I'm afraid if I prune them, I won't get blooms. How should I approach this?

Does anyone have a preferred place to shop online?

Thanks! gootziecat

Comments (11)

• gabro14
    17 years ago

Hi Gootziecat,
    Just a little correction...It's Hoya Rubra, not Ruba. Congrats on your purchase. I also prefer the trailing kinds. A very fragrant one is Hoya Lacunosa, and you can find that at Lowe's or your local nursery or other box stores (It is usually incorrectly labeled "Hoya Green Leaf" or "Hoya Mini Wax Leaf"). Very cute small leaves with fuzzy little flowers. I'm sure you'll get a lot more recommendations, but there are only a few hoyas that you'll easily find at stores. Other ones you'll probably end up finding online (I've read that Logees has hoyas, but I never bought from them).

As for pruning, you'll still get blooms as long as you don't cut off the peduncle (that's what the blooms will continuously come out of). If you do cut off a part of the vine where there is a peduncle, you'll still get blooms as long as you root the cutting...then you can start a new plant with it or put the vine back into the same pot to give it a fuller look.

Enjoy your hoya!

Gabi

• Denise
    17 years ago