Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hoyasahoy

Ten best Hoyas as houseplants for the beginner

hoyasahoy
15 years ago

What are the ten Hoyas you'd most strongly recommend as houseplants for the beginner?

I've just spent a lot of time searching the archives on this forum, and though I found a lot of good relevant information scattered here and there I still haven't found an extended discussion that deals with this directly.

I'm asking because I'm placing my first online Hoya order, and wanted some input from the more experienced. Though I'm a professional gardener, I have a history of houseplant neglect. (The cobbler's children are the first to go barefoot.) So I'm looking for tough vigorous growers that can tolerate drought, low winter humidity, and Massachusetts winter light.

My personal taste runs to silver-flecking and red toned leaves, but not to variegated foliage as on the popular KP and KQ. And I don't care for the cupped and twisted sports like 'Hindu Rope'. I do like narrow and fine-textured foliage. Flowers matter a lot less to me than foliage, especially since my partner is fragrance-sensitive and I may find myself having to amputate the peduncles.

I'm about to place an order with an eBay seller who enjoys a good reputation on this forum. My first tentative order includes:

H. pubicalyx 'Pink Silver'

H. pubicalyx 'Royal Hawaiian Purple'

H. x 'Shepherdell'

H. kentiana

(also Russellia equisitiformis, Neomarica gracilis, and Bignonia capreolata 'Tangerine Beauty'.)

I hesitate to add H. polyneura or H. bella as they're said to be more persnickety about drought and low humidity.

H. carnosa, H. fungii, H. australis, and H. obovata also seem to be widely recommended for beginners, but until my eye grows more refined or my collector's impulse more urgent I'm inclined to leave them for another season. Or are they more different than the photos indicate?

Is there anything else you think a beginner wouldn't want to live without?

Thanks,

Don

Comments (18)