Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fogbelt_steve

Japanese Maple Pruning Question

fogbelt_steve
13 years ago

This question may have been answered but I have not found an answer (I'm an amateur when it comes these things).

I have a generic green Japanese Maple about 7 feet tall. Several of the large branches coming off the main trunk have much more interesting form than the main trunk itself which is straight and close to some of these branches. Is it OK to Prune the tree like I've shown in this sketch?

{{gwi:1051251}}

Comments (7)

• mafle
    13 years ago

Yes, it should be fine to prune it like that. JM's allowed to grow in this manner with multiple leaders usually have an attractive internal branch structure. Judging by your zone the tree has probably recently shed its leaves, in which case now will be a good time to do the pruning.

(The usual advice is make a clean cut with sterilized tools etc. but you probably know that already.)

• mike423
    13 years ago

I agree, the reduction should be fine as long as the root system is large enough and the tree appears to be in good health (has not had any pest problems etc.. recently). I would recommend buying some tree wound sealant, or at the least using some Vaseline to cover the wound. Open wounds (especially larger ones) can cause an opening for fungus and insects to harbor in the tree regardless of season or location. Also as mafle stated make sure the pruning utensil is sterilized properly. Rubbing down the knife/cutter with alcohol prior to making the cut should work fine (for the same reason a doctor would sterilize a tool between patients).