Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mulberryknob

Second crop of peas planted...

mulberryknob
10 years ago

in the greenhouse. The first crop will go into the ground on Sunday along with onions and the first batch of cold weather seeds. Now I certainly hope we will have a more normal spring than either of the last two were. Remember 2012? Our last frost was midMarch. And 2013's last frost was May 3rd.

Comments (3)

• amunk01
    10 years ago

Shockingly my peas in ground survived this crazy weather. They are only about 2-3" tall, but I can't believe they didn't freeze even mulched and covered. We got down to 7ð with a windchill of -5. I need to start another batch this weekend. How many leaves should the cabbage starts have before transplanting them into the garden? Its my first year with cabbage. :)

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    10 years ago

Dorothy, I remember 2012 quite fondly. Around March 8th or 9th I started putting tomato plants in the ground. Because they got off to such a nice, early start, the harvest was tremendous. I wish we'd have that sort of year again soon, though it doesn't seem likely for this year. I'm still trying to forget 2013's recurring weekly freezes and frosts that continued here as well through the first week in May.

I am moving all my cool-season plants off the light shelf today and out to the greenhouse and I'm not going to bring them back inside again.

Alexis, Pea plants, particularly when small, are very cold-tolerant. I rarely have them suffer freeze damage while small, and they don't even mind frost and snow for the most part. It is when they are larger that they can suffer tip dieback or blossom drop when the temperatures drop down very cold.