Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
technochimp89

Ghost Chili's Leaves Curling

technochimp89
10 years ago

I'm very new to gardening, but I've been trying to research as much as possible to keep these things alive. I got one of the ghost chili cans with seeds inside for a Christmas present from a friend of mine. I started them on January 8th and they have grown fairly quickly.

So far I've been keeping them in an enclosed space lined with foil, and I'm using a 26 watt daylight cfl for lighting. The temperature stays between 84 and 86 degrees. I keep the light within 3 inches of the plants and keep it on 24/7.

I water only when the soil is dry on the top, then water until water starts to come out of the drainage holes. I'm not fertilizing yet, but am planning on using a 9-3-6 fertilizer after transplanting.

There seems to be a problem with the leaves, so I figured I should ask some experts before I start fussing with it and killing the plants. The leaves have stayed a yellowish color and have curled more and more downward.

Comments (17)

• DMForcier
    10 years ago

They look very good to me. Curling is normal in my experience.

But they are planted very close together and you must separate the plants before the roots become too intertwined. In fact, the two at 8 o'clock are probably already too far along to separate.