Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
skyclad

Chimayo Chile

skyclad
15 years ago

I was wondering what you guys know of the above chile. I was directed to a site online this morning where they are selling them for $20 per 4oz.! I have never tried these chiles before, so don't know anything about their taste, etc...........but was wondering why the high price. Are they patented or something???

Just curious..........hope I didn't insult any Chimayo fans...

Comments (42)

• austinnhanasmom
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

None of my seed germinated, so maybe they are difficult to grow??

• spencersmom
    15 years ago

I ordered some from Peppermania and they are doing fine. A couple sprouted after just a few days.

I've never tried them but read they are not as hot as other peppers so got them to give my roommates a milder pepper (heat wise) that they could enjoy. I also got Chilhuacle Negro and Fresno for them as well.

Sometimes I have to realize it's not all about me. :)

• fiedlermeister
    15 years ago

Here is a place I buy my chipotle from. Much better price on Chimayo

Here is a link that might be useful: Pendrys

• fiedlermeister
    15 years ago

try this and search for Chimayo--they don't seem to have the dried pods but have the powder for $9.87/lb. I have dealt with them in the past and been happy with them.

http://www.penderys.com/

Here is a link that might be useful: Pendrys

• noinwi
    15 years ago

I grew some a couple of years ago. I remember the seeds took longer to germinate than the others I was growing, so they got into the garden later and I didn't get many ripe ones. The season here is hot but short. I had to harvest them green, hang them up and what ripened I let dry, then ground with other peppers for powder so I can't really comment on the the individual taste. I should try them again sometime. Here's a related thread with a bit more info:

Here is a link that might be useful: Chimayo Peppers

• fiedlermeister