Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jfr1107

Are there any plant swaps in the ABQ area?

jfr1107
18 years ago

Greetings,

I am new to the NE heights of ABQ. I was wondering if there are any organized plant swaps, and/or even any ambitious individual swappers (or wannabee swappers)in the area?

Thanks.

John R.

Comments (9)

• cactus_dude
    18 years ago

Hi John-

I'd be interested in a plant swap, but we may not be interested in the same type of plants. Take a look at my trade list and let me know. Thanks.

cd

• desertlvr
    18 years ago

I might be interested in a plant swap. I go back and forth between Alb. and Las Cruces/ EP frequently, so I can obtain a lot of things that are hard to find here. I am mostly interseted in xeric plants, including desert adapted palm species.

• abq_bob
    18 years ago

I don't know of any regularly scheduled plant swaps, but I'm sure we could whip something together. I'm not sure what I'd have avail. to swap until a little later in the season, like around early May-ish (?).

I have some boring "old stand-bys" like run of the mill iris or daylilies. Hopefully I'd also have something interesting like some passiflora, datura, jasmine, kiwi, or scented geraniums, but I'd need to take cuttings or sow some seeds to get some extra's started. Oh... I do have a TON of weeds to get rid of too :P esp. fox-tail grasses and wild onions!

• jfr1107
    Original Author
    18 years ago

OK, maybe we can try to get together in early May? Maybe at a park somewhere in town that is convenient to a lot of folks.

BTW, I have a TON of "Jupiter's Beard" = Centranthus ruber in my yard. It looks that it likes the climate here!!!! One is already blooming. I would like to find a white flowered one. If anyone wants some of these let me know. I need to make room for other plants.

• abq_bob
    18 years ago