Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
abqlyle

How often should I be watering my veggies?

abqlyle
15 years ago

I'm new to Albuquerque and trying to start my first veggie garden in ages (this is the first time I've had a yard in so long0 and I'm trying to figure out how much water my plants need. I've tried watering them a few different ways but my peppers, tomatoes, basil, artichokes and squash plants are usually wilting by noon, though they quickly recover them if I give them a fresh drink.

I don't want to overwater them (and risk flavorless veggies) but I don't want to risk that if they keep wilting they'll die out. I'd also like these plants to grow some deep roots, which I know won't happen if I keep giving it water.

How much water should I be giving these veggies, should I be worrying more about over or underwatering?

Comments (9)

• petzold6596
    15 years ago

Under watering is the BIGGEST problem. Our SW sun is HOTTER than the northern sun. All plants is our environment will show sign of stress in the afternoon. Water so the soil is moist to about 8 inches when it is needed. If your soil is typical of most of NM, if drains very well so you may have to water every 2-3 days.

• lama26
    15 years ago

I am in the E. Mtns area and am growing my veggies in containers and they need water at least once, but usually twice per day. The wind and sun just suck the moisture away.

For next year, when preparing your bed, nurseries and garden supply stores sell a polymer type product that holds and releases water into the soil. I think High Country Gardens sells a "natural" version of this. I plan on making my own potting mix next growing season and am going to buy some to put in my mix.

• redneck_grower
    15 years ago

". . . a polymer type product that holds and releases water into the soil"

I'm not sure about the "natural" polymer that High Country is selling, but beware; read the following:

Hydrophillic gels . . .