Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jfhspike

Sequence of plantings

jfhspike
13 years ago

I'm a novice square-foot gardener...or to be more accurate, I've done it on and off for 10 years, but without a lot of careful study. This year I built four nice raised beds (12" high, filled with half-topsoil, half compost mix). And I planned out a bunch of stuff to plant, and some of it's working pretty well. (The 5 squares of leaf lettuce is providing a salad every day or two, for instance).

My question is about sequencing. For instance, I've been told to plant peas starting on St. Patrick's day in New England, and then "every two weeks until early June". Same deal with radishes: plant 16 to a square, and then replant every week or two." So: where do I do that replanting??? Surely not in the same square: the radish leaves are covering most of the square after 3 weeks, just about the time that the new seeds would be starting to show leaves, which would be totally shaded. Same with the peas: there's no way I can plant 8 more peas in that same square when the first set of peas is just a foot high...at least I think not.

So: how do you sequence your plants? In a couple of weeks, the peas from St. Patrick's day will be ready to harvest and pull up. Do I plant new peas there a week or so before that? Do I wait and pull up the old plants, dig in more compost, and THEN plant new peas? Or do I plant my eggplants there, since they say not to xplant until about June 1?

Everyone's SFG "plans" show one item per square, but since many items like radishes, peas, beans, cilantro, dill, mustard, lettuce may well "finish up" quite early in the season, it's be nice to see what you do NEXT in those squares, and when.

Thanks in advance for any help.

-John

Comments (13)

• momstar
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

John, I'm certainly not an expert at anything but I'll tell you what I do.