Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
michele_ca

How do I take care of my new Violette de Toulouse?

michele_ca
19 years ago

Hi, I'm new to violets. I have a Violette de Toulouse from Park Nursery since early March. Their advisor told me to plant it in organic potting soil, in an 8" pot with styrofoam "peanuts" on the bottom. Since I live in San Diego (though coastal SD, 2 miles from the ocean), she told me it would be too hot for it during the summer (we are in a townhouse and have a large south-facing patio) and I should keep it by my northern kitchen window. I am to feed it every 3 weeks with a 5-10-5 fertilizer. Well, I've been doing this, and it has been putting out more leaves steadily, but a couple on the bottom appear dryish and a little brown. Do I water this violet from the top? How often? How wet should it be? Do I need to put it outdoors at night (the nights are cool here) for it to flower? Seems I've just missed the flowering season. Any advice will be so much appreciated. Thank you!

Comments (9)

• etii
    19 years ago

Hello Michele !

Glad you've got a violet from France :-) Just the best ;-p
    Do NOT let your violette de Toulouse inside or it's gonna die :-/ OUTSIDE, please ! Violet does not live inside a house, it needs FRESH air !
    Unless it's 0°Celsius (32°Fahrenheit)cold will not be a problem at all :-) I guess living 2 miles from the ocean, it does not freeze, does it ?
    Your viola likes sun too, believe me, the more it gets sun, the more it flowers. As you're living in San Diego, beware in summer: not a too hot place nevertheless and sprinkle.
    If you take good care, you can have flowers in autumn :-)
    Sorry for my bad English, maybe someone else with a better one will give you better advice :-) (Nathalie for example moreover she lives in Toulouse)

Take care :-)
    Thierry.

• michele_ca
    Original Author
    19 years ago