Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ready2moves

toilet ??????

ready2moves
10 years ago

ok, pulled everything out of the bathroom down to studs and concrete floor.
Came here to ask about seeing if anyone knew of a toilet that takes up little depth space as the door hits the bowl of the old toilet.
Then read about 12 or 14 toilets????
ok, i am lost, so I think if i understand this... the measurement from drywall to the center drain of the toilet I need to buy???
Guess I should of kept the old toilet first before giving it away on craigs list. oops
help... someone explain what toilet I can get and how to figure it...

thanks!

Comments (13)

• williamsem
    10 years ago

Ok, I'm no expert, but this will get you started.

First you need to know the "rough in" size, normally 12 inches, but if yours happens to be nonstandard at 10 or 14 inches that is -very- important to know.

Then, since your old one stuck out too far, you need to know how far from the wall the front edge of the old bowl was. Or, probably better, how far the door is from the wall. Your new toilet needs to be a tad shorter than that number.

Find those out and come back.

Depending on you measurements you might have a lot of options or almost none. You may be pleasantly surprised though and still be able to get an elongated bowl, which is by far the preferred option for most people.

• lindalp
    10 years ago

Can you change the door so it swings out instead of in?

• lotteryticket
    10 years ago

There are some compact elongated versions out there. A couple come to mind: Kohler Santa Rosa and the Gerber Viper. Not sure I want to sit on the viper, LOL.

• enduring
    10 years ago

I had a round toilet with a 12" rough-in and the door hit it too. The toilet wasn't the problem. It was the original construction of the room and placement of the door.