Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jim1015

New Furnace/AC/HWH

Jim1015
10 years ago

Hi - New to the forum but I enjoy the information which i've read. I'm new to the whole HVAC world but learning as I go. Live in NJ.

I am in the process of replacing Gas Furnace, A/C and hot water heater as part of the Energy Star Home Performance program as run by the state.

My house is approximately 2300 square feet, 4 bedroom with 1 zone.

My contractor has proposed the following: Carrier two stage high efficiency gas furnace (model 59TP5100-122) at 96/7% efficiency; Carrier R410A high efficiency condensing unit (model 24ANB660) and evaporator (model CNPVP6024) with a rating of 53,000 BTU (4 tons) and SEER 15; Bradford White 50 gallon power vent hot water heater with new pvc flue piping to outside. The above includes honeywell visionpro 8000 thermostat, aprilaire 600 humidifier and aprilaire 2210 media air filter.

In addition, they will perfrom air sealing with single part foam spary to attic flat areas (inc drywall and top plates, chimney chases, pipes, etc). They will also install a energy guardian attic pull down stair cover. And finally they will continue a bath fan pipe which is currently only piped to my attic and not through the roof (note: this is for a 1st floor bathroom with no shower so not sure this is necessary).

After rebates, the total quite is just under $13K.

Appreciate if anyone can comment on the quality of the above and more importantly the price which i have been quoted.

Thanks in advance.

This post was edited by Jim1015 on Fri, Jan 31, 14 at 18:29

Comments (6)

• tigerdunes
    10 years ago

Location please...

• cindywhitall
    10 years ago

I have a pile of posts where I considered and questioned everything. http://ths.gardenweb.com/forums/load/hvac/msg0613455019230.html

there is also a current thread from "mentalcase" who is also considering the program