Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hapyfrustrated

Powdered Detergent and Dryer Balls

hapyfrustrated
15 years ago

I use liquid All Free and Clear, I have to stay away from anything that has scent. I was reading in another post that the powder detergent is recommended, is this in FL and TL? I did not know this, it has been a while since I bought my machine which is a TL and don't remember reading it in the directions. Is that true?

Exactly what does a Dryer ball for, and do they damage your clothes?

Thanks!

Comments (5)

• Cricketm
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I have been using dryer balls for the last two months and found them terrific. No more wrinkles and my clothes are not effected at all. I use powder detergent for white clothes and liquid for color clothes...I add white vingar to my rinse....

• grainlady_ks
    15 years ago

I used dryer balls after we first moved into our home and didn't have our indoor and outdoor lines installed yet, and had to use the dryer. I loved them! They reduced the drying time by at least 25%, or more. Towels were fluffier.

I noticed a new type of dryer balls that has a portion of them that does something to reduce static. The old-style blue ones (both the round ones and Nellie's that are elipitical-shaped - I've used both) don't really do squat to reduce static. I used a spritz bottle of water to "kill" static in the dryer since I never use liquid softener or softener sheets.

I originally tried tennis balls (cheaper alternative), but they emitted a toxic smell that I was sensitive to.

You can also make wool yarn-wrapped dryer balls, although I've never tried them to give you an opinion. You can find instructions at TipNut.com - http://tipnut.com/how-to-make-wool-dryer-balls/