Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lsainz

HVAC Quotes

lsainz
12 years ago

I am new to Gardenweb, so let me start by saying thank you for all your advice and guidance. This really is a fabulous site. I was hoping to get some feedback on three HVAC quotes. I need to install one of them in our new 2,700 square foot house in Sacramento, CA. The house is fairly well insulated and we will be doing extra air-sealing. We already decided we don't want a heat pump. The three quotes we have to date include:

1. Trane XB series/XC95, 3 ton split gas system 15.5 seer/12.4 eer; $18,300 or Trane XL201/XC95, 3 ton split gas system 18.5/13eer; $19,990. Upgrade to R-8 ductwok $750.

2. York Affinity 97% efficient modulating furnace with 2-sstage 18 SEER AC unit (either 2 or 3 tons), Duct system design with Manual J and D Load calculations; R-8 ducts dep buried where possible, new high performance curved blade register grills; $14,487.

3.Carrier 24APA736A003 3 ton, 17.5 SEER with 58MUC060F114 variable speed 95% efficiency and C36H175D456 3 ton with 2 zones and R-8 ducts; no price yet.

I don't know much about HVAC systems, so any input on brand and/or system type would be great. I am somewhat concerned about energy efficiency, but of course I need to balance that with price. Thank you!

Comments (4)

• SkyHeating
    12 years ago

Is the Trane system an air conditioner only or is it a heat pump system? The Trane XC95 is a fully modulating furnace and the XL20i is a two compressor unit, its the only unit on the market that has this feature.

Why does the york unit say either 2 or 3 ton? If they truely did a Manual J they would tell you the size and not guess or let you choose.

what contractor did you feel most comfortable with? I love the XL20i units and that is the most popular unit I install.

• lsainz
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Hi Sky,