Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bobpratt

Replacing Gas Heater

bobpratt
12 years ago

I am just getting started on shopping for a new gas heater only. My 4 ton A/C system is all new. I do have my first quote which raised additional questions. I live in Tulsa, the house is all brick, built in 93, 1900 sq ft. There is no nameplate on the excising unit.

ONG is offering a $550 rebate for HE units over 96%

The equipment in installed in my attic and I have read many comments here about problems with HE units installed in attics, but no explanation.

My first bidder mentioned that he had to oversize the heater to 100k in order to get enough airflow for the 4T A/C. If this is true; I think I should be looking at variable speed units.

Trane XV95 $3814

XR80 $2688

I am starting to lean toward a 80%, VS unit.

Comments please.

Comments (3)

• veesubotee
    12 years ago

HE furnaces (90%+ efficiency) produce condensate. Unless sometimes extreme measures are taken, there is a chance that freezing could occur with leakage (ceiling damage) or possible shut down.

From the Trane website: "The XV95 is rated with up to 96.7% AFUE". This means that CERTAIN (could be only 1) size(s) can reach that value. You need to have your contractor verify that the proposed unit meets the spec. in order to get the rebate.

The term variable speed refers to the ability of the blower motor to ramp up as the static pressure increases (filter clogging, etc.), not the output (and hence, the blower speed) of the furnace. The XV-95 is a 2-STAGE furnace, with a variable speed blower. So, under normal circumstances, the furnace stage will be selected by the (hopefully) 2 stage thermostat, along with the corresponding blower speed.

Did your a/c cycle frequently during the season, and only run (almost) full time on the hottest days.