Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
clkw

Pics and layout - re: if you could have second island, would you?

clkw
14 years ago

I thought I should start a new thread so you all would know I posted my layout and pics. I hope that was appropriate. Sorry, I'm still learning.

Below are my pics and layout and replies to the helpful people that have been discussing my second island idea.....

Here is what I originally posted:

Our situation:

Our main living area is an open floor plan with a kitchen, dining room and living room. Once the first island is in (aprox 10x4), there will still be a very large space until you get to the furniture (land is cheap so everything really is bigger in TX :) After seeing WillowDecor's post yesterday of a gorgeous kitchen with a second island, it gave us that idea to help fill up the space (thanks willowdecor!!!) http://willowdecor.blogspot.com/2010/01/exquisite-french-manor-in-utah.html . I have a quirky excellent use for it but I'm mostly interested in designing the house for resale, so I could always just put in a moveable table for my own needs. Do you think a second island is something truly desirable or would your like the empty space to add more furniture. There will be seating at the first island which will have a sink. So,

would you rather have the option of seating at a non-prep island (which means I'd need to design it with an overhang)

or have it as an entertaining space (buffets/drinks whatever)

or have it as a beautiful barrier so you don't see the kitchen and backs of chairs from the living room (as pictured in willowdecor's blog)

or having it look like a cool table with some character (I love that look but have to be careful because our house is contemporary, although I'm trying to warm it up)

or having a second island is useless when you already have one big one so you think it would be a negative.

or, having two islands will make it look like a grand kitchen which will help resale