Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amberley_gw

Salvage oak flooring to match my existing-good idea?? HELP

amberley
16 years ago

I posted this on the flooring forum as well, but it of course doesn't move as fast as this one.

I have the opportunity to buy 2 1/4" wide 3/4" thick tongue and groove floorboard from a wood salvor. I am hopping it would match the current wood floors in my 1942 home. The dimensions are the same, and the floors are about the same age. I am planning to install it in my new kitchen to be continuous with the rest of the house. We will sand down and refinish the entire first floor.

The boards are also up to 13 feet long.

My thought is that I may have a better "match" with the vintage flooring rather than buying it new.

It is offered for $1.75 SF (I would try to bargain to $1.50). Is this a good idea?

Comments (19)

• raehelen
    16 years ago

amberly,

I have no experience working with salvaged wood, so I'm no help there. But, if you look at it, and think that sanding will fix any potential problems, I'd say go for it! I love the idea of reusing something that still has value, and if it would be a better match for pre-existing floors- what a bonus!

• cpang74
    16 years ago

I think if you are going to refinish the first floor entirely anyway that it sounds like it might be the perfect match when it's all done! Great deal!

• User
    16 years ago

I too do not know as far as the wood refinishing though it sure sounds reasonable- but I have to comment that I think the salvaging is such a great thing to do.

• plants4
    16 years ago

This sounds like a great idea but I'm no expert. I have used old wood out of closets to patch areas in the same house and that has worked well. The price seems great.

• tomalyse
    16 years ago