Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
katiejay

NEW to New Build - A/C Option Input Needed

katiejay
9 years ago

I've been lurking around this board for a few weeks and have gotten some really great ideas - in fact, my head is positively spinning. My DH and I are working out contract details right now on a new construction home in a new master planned development and we are total NEWBIES to this process. Trying hard to educate ourselves and ask TONS of questions so avoid being suckered with all the options/upgrades. We've already eliminated quite a few items from the "mortgage payment" that we will opt to pay cash for at a later date (deck, mud room cabinetry, laundry room cabinetry etc, and probably A/C.)

While I've looked at a few helpful threads re: the central A/C options, here's our current dilemma and I believe one of the last "structural" items to be drawn into the contract. Our A/C options are 1) prewire $350 2) prewire + line set $1000 or 3) whole hog $5100. I'm waiting on specifics on each of these. (Oddly, specifics on brands, sizes, and exact items included have not been laid out for us yet on this topic. They simply want us to go down an option pricing checklist and ID what we want....but how do we know when we don't have details??)