Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jeremeyi

Question on planting brugmansia in pots sunk in the ground

jeremeyi
9 years ago
last modified: 9 years ago

I am new to growing brugmansia and have some cuttings that were started March 16th, 2015 and seem to be doing well. This is a picture of one of them on taken on April 5th (couldn't figure out how to attach picture so link is at the end of the post). I have a few questions. I plan on potting them up and ultimately drilling holes in the pot to sink it into the ground and letting the roots grow through the holes (I am in zone 5a and will have to bring them inside for the winter). Should I even worry about sinking the pots in the ground this year or are they to young/small? How big should the holes in the pot be when I do end up doing that? Thanks in advance for any help.

imgur.com/8GCumQF

Comments (16)

• greatnan
    9 years ago

I'm in zone 9 and never sink the pots in the ground. They stay in their pots until winter and then bring them inside.

• eloise_ca
    9 years ago

Jeremeyi, some online gardening friends that live where it's cold, drill the holes on the side of the pot, not the bottom. This makes it easier for them to slice the roots on the sides to bring their brugs in for winter. It's hard to tell how big your plant is, but if it's not too big, you don't need a large pot. In my experience, brugs always grow faster in ground, so assume sinking the pot will give them that sort of environment where their roots can travel out further. I've seen some photos of a guy that does the holes on the side and they looked about the size of a dime or a bit larger, but then his plant was large to begin with. Hope the experts here will provide you with better info.

• jeremeyi
    Original Author
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago