Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
leah_phu

Does anyone know what type of pepper plant this is?

Leah Phu
8 years ago

Comments (13)

• kentishman
    8 years ago

It looks like a type of cayenne. My Kung Paos look just like this.

Leah Phu thanked kentishman
  • Leah Phu
    Original Author
    8 years ago

Thanks! My sister-in-law planted it in my backyard and she said it is serrano peppers. I looked up serrano peppers and this does not look like a serrano pepper plant.

• kentishman
    8 years ago

The pods should ripen to red. I use them for making Kung Pao Chicken and Hot Pepper Vinegar. They dry well.

• Leah Phu
    Original Author
    8 years ago
    Ok I just found out from two nurseries that it is chile de arbol!
  • Leah Phu
    Original Author
    8 years ago

It does look like my pepper plant!

• katyajini
    8 years ago

Kentishman, very off topic but I thought I would ask....Is the flavor of the Kung Pao peppers quite different from other cayenne peppers? I am new to this pepper growing, I don't know much. I would like to grow at least one (or maybe two) cayenne type peppers next year so trying to choose. From any authentic Chinese food I have had, assuming Kung Pao peppers were used, I really liked the flavor. I see Burpee sells a Kung Pao pepper. Where did you get your seeds? Is it a high yield type?

Thank you so much!

K.

• woohooman San Diego CA zone 10a
    8 years ago

Some cayennes do look very similar to De Arbol. My first guess was De Arbol also. One of my all-time faves...good heat, GREAT flavor, very prolific. Let ripen to red and dry pods. Toast them when cooking for even more awesomeness to flavor. Get a cage around it now or it will be flopping on the ground... very spindly branches.

Kevin

• kentishman
    8 years ago