Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cnettrouer

Rockin Horse Farm by DE Wiggins

C Nettrouer
8 years ago
last modified: 8 years ago

Looking for feedback on "Rockin Horse Farm" by DE Wiggins.
Planning to build on 5 acres in NE Indiana for the wife and I within the next 2 years. We have no kids and are in our late 30s. Our parents are in good health, but do foresee grandparents needing help here soon. The wife's GPs are in their late 80s, early 90s and living on their own. They live in a 2 story house and still do most of their own yard work. I do want to offer them a place to stay when they are ready.

Our current home is 1800 sq/ft ranch, 3 bed, 2 bath on a crawlspace. Nothing special, just a typical builder-grade tract house on a quiet 1 acre lot. We do like our location and the house is adequate for 2 people but would be tight for future guests.
The 2 biggest issues with our current home is it lacks storage space (basement) and does not fit with my work lifestyle.

I work as a locomotive engineer and am unfortunately on call 24/7. Many say working for the railroad is a "lifestyle" instead of a job, because your life revolves around the railroad. I receive numerous calls throughout the night related to work which disrupts the wife's sleep (very light sleeper). Getting ready for work is also an issue as she usually can hear me in the kitchen or typing away at the keyboard in the next room. Our previous house was a 2 story (w/ basement) and allowed me to get ready on a different floor to prevent waking her.

The short list of our requirements:

- 4 bedroom (3 bedroom + office)

- 3 bathrooms (at least 1 per floor)

- main level master bedroom & guest bedroom

- 10' poured basement (unfinished)

- over-sized 2 car side load garage

- radiant hot water heat

- energy efficiency and low maintenance exterior are higher priorities that interior finishes

- budget $400k