Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mrspete

Should I give up the Kohler Stages 45 for a better kitchen layout?

mrspete
8 years ago
last modified: 8 years ago

I want the Kohler Stages 45 sink. I really, really, really want this sink, and since I am a serious cook out uses LOADS of fresh vegetables, I would appreciate the function ... but I also do not want to expand the size of the kitchen. Please look at these pictures and tell me whether my stubborn determination to have this sink is hurting my plan:

I'm "set" on the location of the range, and the lazy susan in the corner is a "must have". The corner sandwiched between the sink and the dishwasher will open to the "outside" of the U -- that's actually a good thing; that cabinet'll be for BBQ items. BUT this all means that the 48" sink hogs all the space in the center of the U ... pushing the dishwasher to the peninsula. This means my total drawer space INSIDE the U is

- 18-20" drawer stack to the left of the sink

- 30" drawer stack to the right of the dishwasher.

I'm thinking that the small area to the right of the range will be a cabinet for oils and vinegars, and I'll have large drawers (and cabinets above) OUTSIDE the U for dish storage. One plus: Unloading the dishwasher will be easy /convenient for these drawers.

Thing is, the sink is pushing everything around ... and as much as I want this sink, I'm wondering if it'd be more practical to go with a large sink, still with the "ledges" for use with accessories -- but something that'd fit into a 36" sink base -- and then have the granite installer "scoop out" something similar to the ledge in the granite. I'm thinking it could work out like this:

I could have the "scooped out" counter top ledge (which I don't think would be quite as nice as the Stages ledge) on either the left or the right. This would make my shelves nicer /all on peninsula.