Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
magdalenalee_gw

Going into the Tote Business! Take my poll please!

MagdalenaLee
8 years ago

I'm a graphic designer and I have a friend with a screen printing press. Our idea is to sell printed reusable grocery shopping totes. Maybe on Etsy.

My preferred shopping tote is roomy with a flat bottom. I have one that I measured and think it's the perfect size: 14x15x8. I also prefer washable. And cute.

I'm thinking: the above size, natural cotton/canvas with a one color print (mainly black). The designs can be endless and we can have the operation set up for print-on-demand.

So those are my ideas, but what do you like?

Your preferred size?

Washable cotton or a polypropylene material?

Would organic/recycled sway you to purchase or would you pay extra?

How much would you pay plus shipping? $15 each? $20 each?

Are you thinking, "Cool idea." Or, "Are you crazy, I just use an old pillowcase!"

Comments (43)

• busybee3
    8 years ago

I would prefer a little larger- maybe 16x18 or 18x18/20...

if cotton, I would want very easily washed and dried- not too heavy... a blend or a soft polyprop would be fine too. I wouldn't like bags that stained and were difficult to get clean.

organic wouldn't sway me at all... I like recycled, but wouldn't pay more for it.

I ALWAYS like free shipping and for groceries, I would be more interested in 15$, tho really nice/clever designs might sway me to pay a little more, tho 20 still sounds high...

:)

• MagdalenaLee
    Original Author
    8 years ago

Busy, thank you! That's exactly the kind of feedback I'm looking for.

This design made me swoon!

• IdaClaire
    8 years ago

I use a variety of totes in various sizes, but I think 14x15x8 is a decent size and something I would use.

Washable cotton, definitely. I sometimes use my totes to carry my lunch and/or a smoothie which has been known to leak.

I would not be swayed by organic/recycled.