Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
m_gold

How often should I water this soil mixture?

m_gold
7 years ago

It's my first year growing in containers. I'm growing watermelons and zucchini and letting them spread throughout my yard as they grow out of the pots.

My bottom later of a 9 gallon container (roughly 2 gallons worth) is soil from my yard. After that I combined a mixture of topsoil, compost and potting soil (at about a 1-1-5 ratio respectively). And then since I started from seeds outdoors, the top gallon or so, is only potting soil.

I cut 6 holes in the bottom of the container, off to the edges, about the size of a US quarter, or maybe slightly larger.

My past experience has been with a raised bed garden only and usually the rain does a good job at giving the soil the moisture it needs. I fear a container might lose moisture more quickly but I don't want to overwater.

Can anyone make a suggestion please?

Comments (17)

• m_gold
    Original Author
    7 years ago

What was my mistake? Not adding bark?

Thank you for the link. It's quite confusing for someone new like me but it was an interesting read

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    7 years ago

Your mistake was using garden soil/topsoil in a container. It is very heavy and dense and won't allow proper drainage. If you are growing in a container - which has much different requirements than growing anything in the ground - then you need to use a soil mix (actually they are soil-less mixes) that is formulated to offer those unique requirements. ALL potting soil - no topsoil or garden soil and no compost - would be much better but even that can offer some challenges with many store-bought mixes as they can be too fine a texture and too moisture retentive,

Consider the soil recipes offered in that link. The 5-1-1 mix is what you want to shoot for when growing veggies or other annuals.

m_gold thanked gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
  • m_gold
    Original Author
    7 years ago