Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sarah_koppelkam

Huge empty space, ugly chairs, pink velvet couch

Sarah
6 years ago

My boyfriend and I are broke twenty-somethings (he's a server, I'm a teacher) in our first home. We stumbled upon an incredible deal on a mid-century rental home, and we love the place so much. Hardwood floors, giant windows, huge back porch, working fireplace. The issue is the living room... it's so big and all of our current furniture is a mishmash of secondhand stuff, leading to a space that isn't beautiful or even really functional. Every other room in the house makes me so happy but this one is supremely "meh."

Adding to the challenge are two pieces of furniture. The first is a couch that I am completely in love with, pictured below. I found it for $50 at a secondhand store and reupholstered it myself in pale pink velvet. I am so pleased with how it came out, and would love for it to be a statement piece in the room, but right now it is just an awkward anomaly. The style of the couch is more vintage, but my style in general tends towards more contemporary/bold, so I'd love to pieces in that style that complement it.

Next are the giant red upholstered chairs in the middle of the room. My boyfriend and I also live with a roommate, whom we love... but I do not like her chairs. She bought them thinking they went with the couch and now I feel like the whole room looks too dated and formal. I'd love for it have a more casual, cozy feel. But yeah, the chairs have to stay in some regard...