Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nicoleteste7

Jade plant falling over in pot

nicoleteste7
7 years ago
last modified: 7 years ago

I am new to the Crassula Ovata plant. I recently pot up my new plant in a 3.5 in small clay pot and it fell over once, I tried watering it in. It fell over again. I determined the pot wasn't big enough so I went ahead and put it in a bigger pot that I had on hand that was plastic. It fell over again! I know this is a top heavy plant and plastic is definitely not my first choice but unfortunately it's all I have on hand big enough until payday and I hate to keep repotting. The soil mix is 50/50 cactus soil mix/perlite which is making the soil very light and airy as well. I'm wondering if I should try I different pot or possibly putting some top dressing stones on top to keep it in place? I love the look of stones on top as a dressing but I've read mixed reviews about it. Thanks in advance!

1st pot

2nd pot (current)

Comments (8)

• bunkfree_4a_canada
    7 years ago

I'd go back to the smaller pot and prop with rocks until it's standing on its own. I found that the 50/50 mix just isn't dense enough to support the bigger plants until their root systems take over enough to stabilize them. Since getting into cacti and succulents, I've had to let go of my long-ingrained habit of watering-in and packing the soil down when repotting.

kd

• rina_Ontario,Canada 5a
    7 years ago

What exactly do you mean by 'it fell over'? Did it toppled over with the pot? Was it uprooted? If the roots are not established yet in the potting media, they are not anchoring the plant. Roots could have been damaged and root ball very small. What were the roots like?

It may be bit top heavy, but it really doesn't look like that in the photo (could be the photo). How long after repotting did it fall over?

You may have watered too quickly between watering. Was the potting mix almost dry?

nicoleteste7 thanked rina_Ontario,Canada 5a
  • nicoleteste7