Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
heatherggpie

Exterior color help - red roof

Heather
4 years ago

Color experts please help!
I need advice on window and door frame colors as well as the exterior wall color.
As you can see, we have a red clay tile roof which ties us down with wall color options.
We currently have wooden window frames and a wooden sliding door onto the patio.
To increase our garden size and update the house we intend to:
-Remove the concrete/brick patio and replace with a smaller wooden deck/stairs (a grey colored decking wood)
-Remove roof over patio to allow light into living room
-Replace window and door frames with aluminium. Stacking doors will be used instead of sliding doors and more windows added for light and warmth.
Our architect has suggested charcoal colored window/door frames. I’m not sure if this will work with the red roof and if so, what wall color would be best to tie them all together?

Comments (13)

• Anna (6B/7A in MD)
    4 years ago

I’m no expert but when I‘ve seen red tile roofs, they’re usually paired with white, cream, light yellow/tan walls.

I don’t know about replacing that brick with gray decking, it doesn’t sound like a good swap to me.

The roof over the patio can be changed to an arbor, is it an arbor already? Is it there because it gets hot and some shade is needed to enjoy the patio?

• cat_ky
    4 years ago

I would add a skylight to the living room, if possible, and leave that patio. It looks like a wonderful place to be on a hot sunny day. It also adds a lot to your curb appeal. I would also leave the brick, and would lighten that yellow paint on the stucco to a cream color. I am also not fond of those cement squares with grass coming up between them, and would like to see a sidewalk from the front patio over to the door. Its a very cute house, and doesnt really need a whole lot to make it beautiful.

• Heather
    Original Author
    4 years ago