Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hzdeleted_20096495

Covid hits home

User
3 years ago

My daughter works for a mason supply company. Her boss went on several trips for meetings throughout 3 provinces. When she returned to the office both she and my daughter work in, she stood beside my daughter for about 45 minutes telling staff about the meetings to get everyone on the 'same page'. She also told me her boss did this while NOT wearing a mask, which is mandatory in Alberta in ALL public buildings. She was diagnosed on Monday with Covid.

I asked her, "did YOU have your mask on?" She said yes. I said I think you should be okay. But I knew there was still a small chance.

"Well?" she said, "after work I sat in her office to wait for my boyfriend to pick me up and I took mine off." My heart sank. I couldn't be mad at her because I work in a store and 99/100, when I'm in the back room or in my bosses office, I take mine off as well. But I know my boss works and goes home. Works and goes home. Works and goes home. She only allows her brother inside her house because their mother lives with her and her brother has the same life.

She went for a Covid test Tuesday and Wednesday morning I texted her to see if she was feeling well. She was taking her inhaler because she was 99% sure her asthma was acting up. She said she felt much better than the day before, "it's probably just a cold". Denial set in.

She called me 2 hours later on my cell at work, just as I was about to relieve a cashier for her break. "I need to take this call, sorry!'

"Hi mooommmmm! I have the vid...."

I had to sit down. And I had to get her to repeat it twice because I was hoping I heard her wrong. "I'm okay mom!" "sure, okay" I said. "Mom, really. I'm okay!" My voice shook and I started to cry. "Okay Mindy. You're going to be okay."