Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
webuser_756207816

Am I delusional when it comes to kitchen budgets? *sigh*

Miri D
3 years ago

Hello!

We just started looking around different showrooms and learning about different cabinet manufacturers. Oh, and I am brand new to Houzz, so thanks for any input in advance.

We are looking at a full remodel without structural changes, and are pretty much keeping the current placement of appliances and sink. Slab doors, frameless cabinets, quartz counters and as much storage as possible are on our list. Today, we looked at the Eclipse line by Shiloh.

I will attach a couple of pictures to give an idea of the space, including the current placement of the appliances. Blue lines represent areas where we would like 36” upper and lower cabinets, orange represents floor to ceiling (pantry style) cabinets. Ceilings are low (88”).

Am I delusional in thinking that this can be done for $30k? I’ve been reading through the posts here, and knowing that we will have to give our future KD some sort of budget as a starting point, I simply have no idea how to even come up with a reasonable number. We are in Western MA, our house is probably worth around $200k.

Any input from people who recently installed a contemporary/Euro style kitchen is greatly appreciated.

Another question I have: after the initial (free) consultation when measurements are taken, will we receive an estimate that includes prices? A price breakdown? I understand that detailed designs and plans are only done after a percentage is paid, but what is usually included with the initial consult?

All of this is exciting and overwhelming at the same time, and we haven’t even really started yet... *sigh*

Comments (92)

• nicoletouk
    3 years ago