Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mariapia47

Help with architectural plans layout for remodel

mariapia47
last month

Looking into adding on to my 1950s home. The plans are the footprint we do not want to go bigger into the yard.

Would a designer be the best to help with a functional layout?

We don’t want empty spaces without purpose

Love to entertain. The front room with bath by the entrance those walls cannot move.

The rest we can change

Any advice is appreciated and accepted.

I love this group, I am not a professional

Thank you in advance

Comments (12)

• millworkman
    last month

" Looking into adding on to my 1950s home. The plans are the footprint we do not want to go bigger into the yard. "

So, these are the current drawings, you want to add an addition but you cannot encroach further onto the yard? Am I reading this correctly?

• PRO
    JAN MOYER
    last month

Very confusing post. Which part is the addition and where does it begin?

Show an EXISTING condition, and the proposed, separately. Use a jpeg format that can be blown up on a click, and do not screenshot.

• PRO
    Patricia Colwell Consulting
    last month
    last modified: last month

I agree with Jan about posting injpeg You need to know both from a structral and code .. Then you need an architect. We can give you some advice about layout but that us as far as we can help.Yes we need to see the original

• anj_p
    last month

I think I understand what you are saying - you are not exceeding the existing footprint of the house with your renovation, and what you are showing is the renovation plan.

First, please explain who is living here and what the purpose of the JR ADU is.