Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
javaman_gw

Selecting a riding mower

javaman
5 years ago

My yard is 2/3 acre and I have been cutting it with a push mower for 20 years. Its time for a riding mower. I have been looking at home owner zero turn mowers like the Hustler Raptor with a 42 inch deck. I am worried about how much room it will take up in the garage. Not opposed to something like a John Deere rider either. What should I buy if I have a budget a little over 3k???

Comments (11)

• ssewalk1
    5 years ago

Snapper rider or Simplicity , then John Deere ! Forget any Zero turn @ $3000.00 !

• andrelaplume2
    5 years ago

Snapper Rider? Are the still in business? Were they not only 28" wide? I do recall you could stand them on end which would indeed take up less room.

Me, my budget was under 2K. Go to you local dealer before the big box store. I got a cub a few years back for $1800 w/Kawasaki engine- I treated myself to a better engine and bumper or it would have been $1500. It's been good so far. 42" fits nicely in my shed. I was going to get a Deer in the same price range but the dealer..other than pointing out the low level Deer has a transmission encased in plastic and trying to upsell me...well was a D!ck. My lowly purchase was not worth his time. He wanted to sell tractors. I figured I'd rank just as high with service when needed so I bought the Cub mostly because they were the only other game in town but also because I was treated well and had some people recommend them.

You may also be pointed to used equipment. I am convinced most stuff at the bog box level pricing is pretty much the same...but having a good dealer can make a huge difference regardless of what you buy. Go talk to the locals in your area...

• ssewalk1
    5 years ago