Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gessiegirl

Crape Myrtle

gessiegirl
16 years ago

Hi, I'm new to the Bonsai Forum, but I have appreciated fine bonsai for quite some time. I design and exhibit miniature gardens in African violet shows and am always on the lookout for nice miniature trees, which has prompted me to decide to try bonsai for myself. I've decided on crape myrtle for my first project. I have a choice of dwarf and larger trees, but I was disappointed to find the dwarf trees don't have the characteristic of exfoliating bark that many of the larger trees have, and the dwarf varieties I've seen have larger leaves than some of the large varieties. Otherwise, the dwarf crape myrtles seem to be almost perfect for beginners.

I would appreciate any pointers on using crape mytle for bonsai from any of you who already have experience in working with it. Thanks in advance.

Betty in Arkansas

Comments (4)

• lucy
    16 years ago