Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
figtreeundrgrnd

Excessive Rain & Container Nutrients

figtreeundrgrnd
17 years ago

Hi. I'm new to container gardening and was wondering how all this rain might effect nutrients specifically for tomatoes and peppers.

Logically, I would guess that some have been 'flushed' out. Are there some that will flush quicker than others? Should I feed them now when they're trying to set flowers or should I wait until things dry out some? Thanks.

Comments (30)

• username_5
    17 years ago

Depends on the fertilizer. In general nitrogen is the first nutrient to run out the drainage hole, but if you are using a water soluable fertilizer like Peters or Miracle Grow or anything you mix with water before using then it all runs out the drainage hole ;-)

You will have to experiment to find what works best for you, but a decent starting place is to use some slow release nutrient like osmocote mixed into the mix at planting time as kind of an insurance policy, but then pretend it isn't there and develop a fertilizing routine that works for you and the plants. This involves a water soluable fert of whatever kind is appropriate and either using it 1/4 strength or so with each watering or half strength once a week or full strength every other week or whatever. There are as many variations on the ferting routing as there are container growers.

For best performace either add a micronutrient source at planting time or use a 'complete' fertilizer that has the micronutrients in it as container mixes generally have little to no micronutrients in them and the plants will do best with them. Tomatos in particular are more susceptible to blossom end rot in containers. Part of this is probably due to inconsitent watering (try to keep them moist at all times), but some times it may be due to no calcium in the mix.