Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lfrj_gw

Diatomaceous Earth Anyone?

lfrj
17 years ago

Okay, so while studying advertising way back in college, we were given an assignment to find a relatively unknown product and create a campaign. My buddy and I decided on Diatomaceous Earth. We hailed it as a nontoxic wonder, gave it a new name, new package, TV ad, the works! Well, 20 years & 2 degrees later, here I am an advertising professional with a full time hobby  a flock of 10.

A week ago while cleaning out the coop we noticed the walls simply covered with tiny hopping insects! WasnÂt sure what they were and didnÂt particularly care to find out. WeÂre all green at this (including the pullets) just figured if we didnÂt already have a lice infestation, we soon would. So naturallyÂ.I called mom! Back in the 40Âs, as she recalls, they used lime. Totally unfamiliar with this substance and uneasy about insecticides, I searched my mind for an option and then remembered DE.

Neither of the feed stores in my area had ever heard of it, nor had Home Depot. The gal at True Value said they used to carry it, but no longer. I had to drive 10 miles to the next town up in order to retrieve bag. (Maybe I should have sold my campaign!).

The statement on the pkg. claimed it may be a Âmoderate eye irritantÂ. Avoid skin or eye contact. Wear dust mask to avoid inhaling "if person is not breathing call 911". Sheesh!

Still, I noted that a few forum folks do use it; one person even sprinkles it in feed.

Having already purchased the bag, we went ahead - sprinkled it liberally over the bedding and let it go. The birds were fine. One week later when cleaning out the bedding, we could scarcely a single hopping bug. Nary a one, just a few stragglers way down in the deepest layer of bedding!