Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
enigma7_gw

Started off as an overseed, now looking like a complete redo....

enigma7
14 years ago

Hi Everyone,

I had planned to heavily dethatch, core aerate, and scalp my zoysia front lawn (~1200sq ft). I live in SE PA and zoysia really is a PITA to deal with, mainly due to the weed issues that have cropped up over the last year or 2. We've had a ridiculously wet summer and this has compounded the weed issue as the mild/moderate droughts we normally see once or twice per year help to keep the weeds in check while the zoysia just shrugs it off. I have been on the organic feeding as well due to my 3 yr old for the past 2-3 years and this could also be a cause. This past spring I did succumb and put down a Dimension pre-M (no fert), but the lawn was already in a tailspin I couldn't easily get out of.

My major issue is clover, it started small, and I used to be able to keep it in check, but with a daughter my yard time has been seriously diminished. The clover in many areas (especially ones that get regular traffic) have gone out of control and completely removed any trace of grass. I had tried Weed-B-Gone a couple years ago with very limited success.

So long story short I went about starting to dethatch last night. We've had about 4" of rain in the last week (dry for 2 days now) and so I assumed I'd be removing a bit more than normal, but instead the entire lawn is coming up in sheets. I see quite a bit of white grubs, but I think mainly it's due to the weeds/clover not having deep root systems. As I get closer to my thicker zoysia, the grass does not come up as readily.

So now I've got about a 1/5th of my lawn completely turfed, and I still have at least 1/2 to dethatch. I was going to be overseeding with a fescue blend from Home Depot (Rebel brand). Yeah I know, it's probably crap, but it did the job and I was expecting to not have a bare lawn.

So here's my questions: