Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
novice_2009

is adding your own compost straight to veggie garden good idea?

novice_2009
14 years ago

Around early september, I added my finished compost to veggie garden as a top dressing for fall crops, winter cover crops, and just to improve the garden.

Well, a million of the same little weed sprung up all over the place, and now I'm thinking that wasn't a good idea.

Perhaps it should be tilled in (can only do that in spring), or use moderately around the base of plants?

Please help.

Comments (10)

• tetrazzini
    14 years ago

I always put compost on my beds, usually in spring. It doesn't matter when you do it though. I'm not an expert on compost, but maybe your compost didn't get hot enough to kill the weed seeds? Do you get frozen temps in your area? That should kill the weeds this winter. In any case, they should be easy to pull or hoe out when young.

Whether or not to till it in is a matter of opinion, some saying tilling is counterproductive to soil health.

I think it's a good idea to mulch before the ground freezes, to protect the soil. A layer of mulched leaves does a good job, and leaves the soil beautiful in spring.

• Kimmsr
    14 years ago

Adding compost in September was a really good idea even though those "weeds" germinated. There is no need to till, just get enough newspaper and mulch to cover the area now and that will kill those "weeds" for you.

• gardenlen
    14 years ago

the only thing you may not have done is to mulch over the compost, that would have taken care of most things that wanted to sprout. outside of that i can't see any thing wrong with what you did we work a similar system in our gardens, where all composting happens on the garden between the plants.

len

Here is a link that might be useful: lens garden page

• novice_2009
    Original Author
    14 years ago