Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fierymomof2

Growing Muscadine from Seed?

fierymomof2
16 years ago

I just bought 3 clamshell boxes of the dark purple muscadines, and am saving the seeds. I am a complete newbie at growing these, so I'd like to know how to start. I know they take approximately 3 years minimum to produce fruit, and that's ok.

Do I refrigerate the seeds first until spring? When do I plant them (spring? fall?)? Can I start out each seed in one of those box seed starter things from Wal-Mart and then transfer them outside when they start to shoot up?

I know they used to grow on the backside of my dad's land wild, and now they seem to have disappeared :( THey were never pruned, just allowed to grow wild, and we used to get many, many 5 gallon buckets full of them. Now I want to grow them in my own backyard.

I've searched around the internet but really haven't found anything about how to grow them starting with the seed.

Thanks for any advice :)

Melissa

Comments (13)

• georgez5il
    16 years ago

scarify the seed then soak in "rapid grow" for 12 hours the store at 40F for 120-240 days then .......lightly cover the seed soil temp 68F. The fruit from these plants will not be EXACTLY like the fruit you ate but should be very close.....
    I prefer to take cuttings & propagate this way.

• plays_in_dirt_dirt
    16 years ago

Melissa, I winter sowed domestic muscadine (29 seeds in soup cans) this past February 9 and every one germinated. No special treatment, just winter sowed.

• fierymomof2
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thank you Plays :) George, I don't understand what it means to "scarify" the seed nor do I know what rapid grow is. Is that like miracle grow? I may just go the soup can way if I can't figure out what the other means. Plays, when they germinated, did you then transfer them to your garden or just left them growing in the cans for awhile?
    I really appreciate all the help, I feel like such a newbie :(

• dogdaze3001