Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tbeardave

location of green house

tbeardave
17 years ago

Hello to all,I live in southern Illinois near carbondale and am wanting to get into a greenhouse set up. I have been reading the many threads and learning lots. Which is the best direction for placement. I have seen some in my area where doors face south and also to the west. I will be starting cuttings and probably seeds . My plans are to build a hoop house and try to heat it. I am new to forums and plant growing although i am a landscaper currently with a broken foot. got lots of time to research. Thanks for any ideas.

Comments (14)

• Karen Pease
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

You want the longest axis facing south, whatever axis it is. You'll want to insulate everything that won't be getting a significant amount of winter sun with heavy insulation, preferably reflective to trap IR and give your plants extra light. You'll want at least double-layer clear on the rest. You'll want an auto-opening vent, probably with a fan unless it's a huge vent, for spring and fall (it's a pain to have to open and close it every day when the night temps are too cold but the day temps are too hot). As for heating, both electric and propane are valid options. Expect to use a good bit of energy either way. Propane is more efficient and provides critical winter CO2, but more difficult and expensive to set up. If you go electric, try not to make an airtight greenhouse so that your plants can get the CO2 that they need.

Isn't it a bit late in the season to be at the planning phase of setting up a greenhouse?

• tbeardave
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thanks for the reply. Yes it is a little late. thought about getting an area ready for early spring building. I figured it would take me a while to learn what i need to know. I have been looking at kits, but homebuilt may be the better choice.

• mylu
    17 years ago