Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
misssherryg

Dead and Dying Dogwoods

MissSherry
13 years ago

Nearly all the dogwoods on my property have died since Hurricane Katrina - there was massive tree damage here - and other people in this general area are reporting the same thing. There is only one large healthy dogwood left on my 5 1/2 wooded acres (maybe two, I'll have to check again) and I've been hauling off one dead trunk after the other since 2005. A couple of years ago, I planted Cornus florida 'Weaver', a variety that's supposed to be good for the Gulf Coast area, and it's still healthy, though still small. I've ordered a few more 'Weavers' to pot up and then plant out this fall. I also plan to try and get some seeds from the one healthy tree that's left before the birds eat them all, so I can try and grow my own - maybe this one tree has immunity?

Does anybody know why they're all dying? Is it some late effect of Hurricane Katrina, or could it be caused by the disease that's affected eastern dogwoods - 'forgot what it is - and it just happened to occur here after the hurricane?

Also, does anybody know of any other cultivars that are well adpated to Gulf Coastal conditions?

I'm sure going to miss all those spring flowers!

Sherry

Comments (16)

• Toronado3800 Zone 6 St Louis
    13 years ago

Hello,

Was your land underwater for some time or receive any other type of damage from the hurricane? Like did all the dirt from up the hill wash into your woodland burrying the roots or....?

Here Cornus florida seems somewhat picky in regards to moisture so I am guessing.

• alabamatreehugger 8b SW Alabama
    13 years ago