Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
heavyoilguy

Closed looped system

heavyoilguy
14 years ago

Morning,

I am new to irrigation and have been searching the net for info,

I came across one site that recommended a closed looped system for hilly areas, would this closed looped system work for any system, i will be doing raised beds 4' wide x 32' long, and was wandering if this would work for me, They showed using some air vents , it did not say if these vents were there just for the hilly area or if they were needed for any closed system,

Any help would be great

Thank you HOG

Comments (10)

• lehua49
    14 years ago

Hi hog,

Please explain in greater detail. Describe the system components in more detail. Give the internet site you were learning from. Thanks. Aloha

• heavyoilguy
    Original Author
    14 years ago

hi lehua13
    I can not remember which site it was now I have been looking through so many lately,But they have a low flow drip system w/ emitters at 1' foot spacing, and they are irrigating a hill side, the picture showed an air vent at the bottom of the hill on the end of one of the runs of tubing.Then this " tee'd " off and connected the whole system together in one big loop.
    So I was wandering if I could do that , I will have 3 runs of drip tubing spaced @ 18" apart per bed .So instead of capping off each end I wanted to connect the 3 lines together. I am watering from a well and the pressure /flow starts off great, but then slows down after say 1/2 -1 hr So I thought this may help my situation, but I do not know I'm just grasping at straws.

Any help would be great ,
    Thanks

• lehua49
    14 years ago

Hi On the Hog,