Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pbarky

Climbing Cecile Brunner

pbarky
17 years ago

I planted a climbing Cecile Brunner late spring 2006. I got the plant at Lowes. It grew well last summer but never bloomed. It was loaded with gorgeous blooms this spring. However, now it shows no sign of reblooming. I'm new to roses, so I'm wondering is this to be expected. Is it back to putting on canes? I've gotten mislabeled plants before, but this bloom looks like the Cecile Brunner bloom on the bush form from Chamblees that I planted this spring. After seeing the blooms this year, I was expecting some flowering this summer. Am I too impatient?

Comments (15)

• patricianat
    17 years ago

There is a rose in commerce that has been sold by the name of Cecile Bruner by Lowe & Home Depot that is a once-bloomer. Smells very fragrant, only blooms in spring. My DIL bought one also. She has had hers 3-4 years and has had 3 spring blooms since acquiring it.

• williamcartwright
    17 years ago

Allow me to sing the praises of Cecile Brunner Cl.

Ours is over 65 years old and I treasure her. Canes almost as big as my arm.

Recently a woman who lived in our home in 1940 dropped in on us, and when I took her around to see the yard her knees almost buckled when we went out back: "It's still here!!!"

It was a very emotional moment for us both.

This rose has survived (no make that "thrived) during periods of total neglect. Including (I hate to admit) years under my care when my work load was so overwhelming that the garden slipped low on my priority list. And yet she thrived!

As Jeri said, she is a "very vigorous, handsome plant". I'd just add this is no understatement. The foliage is (to my taste) very beautiful, and here at least completely free of disease (can't speak of elsewhere).