Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
movinginva_gw

Is it safe to cut some of the roots off a tree?

movinginva
12 years ago

Hello all, This is my first time posting in this area of the forums.

I have a mature oak tree at the front of the house, and I am digging down about 5 inches to install a brick patio. In order to do this, I will have to cut some of the tree's roots. I will be cutting no more than about a quarter of the roots. How much will this affect the tree? By cutting the roots, am I asking for trouble?

Thanks!

Comments (12)

• Toronado3800 Zone 6 St Louis
    12 years ago

It will not help the tree, but the only thing you can do is pick when you do the cutting.

Are the trees still dormant where you are or does it have leaves?

When are ya planning on doing the work?

• movinginva
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I was planning on doing the work this and next weekend. We had a very mild winter and the trees are now out of dormancy.

• drrich2
    12 years ago

How close will the patio be to the base of the tree trunk?

How broad will the patio be? (I'm trying to get a feel for how much root area will be destroyed).

Richard.

• movinginva
    Original Author
    12 years ago

The edge of the patio will be about seven feet from the tree and the patio will be 18 feet wide.

• famartin
    12 years ago

Define "safe". Cutting roots is always "asking for trouble", its just a matter of whether you're doing it in a little mouse peep or a big lion roar ;)

Can you not put in a wood patio, elevated above the ground, which would not bother the trees at all?

• drrich2
    12 years ago

Be mindful it's not just the roots in the 5" depth you'll kill. The brick patio will shut off a large area from access to air, & thus drop oxygen levels in the soil. So roots deeper than 5" will be killed, too.