Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lavender_lass

One good thing....and one bad thing :)

lavender_lass
13 years ago

This is my first year getting old garden roses...and my first order will be ready for pick up on Mother's Day. My other order will be arriving in June.

My question for all of you out there with MUCH more experience....please share one good thing and one bad thing you've learned while growing OGRs.

For myself, I've learned that it's great that OGRs can be ordered online! However, I also have 17 roses I have to plant this Sunday. LOL

Thanks in advance :)

Comments (12)

• sherryocala
    13 years ago

Lavender lass, one good thing is that OGRs are tough and do fine in the pot for an extended period - just in case you don't get all 17 in the ground on Sunday. Who do you think you are...Super Woman??? One bad thing is that 17 OGRs have a nasty tendency to turn into 27 OGRs and then 37 OGRs and then...

Sherry

• harborrose_pnw
    13 years ago

one good thing is that you love them so much you become obsessed.
    one bad thing is that you love them so much you become obsessed.

• lavender_lass
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Harborrose- LOL!

Sherryocala- They're bands and I'm hoping I've done most of the work already. My husband and I have worked hard on improving the beds...but it's good to know they do well in pots for a bit :)

• kstrong
    13 years ago

Well, yes, they can survive in pots for awhile, quite awhile.
    But bands is a different story. I don't want you left with the impression you can leave them in those tiny pots for very long.
    They just can't get enough moisture if you do that.

If you don't get them planted soon, at least kick them up to one gallon pots before too long. Then they can rest there for several months.

Kathy

• york_rose
    13 years ago