Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ms_minnamouse

What do you do with your WS babies over the next winter?

ms_minnamouse
15 years ago

I've lost some young plants to Mother Nature when I left them outside in pots and they froze. I was wondering what everyone does with their yearling plants? I mean those of you that don't get around to planting or trading everything you sowed.

Comments (14)

• heyitzbenny
    15 years ago

well for annuals they are pretty much supposed to die and come back from their seeds, which of coruse we winter sow. for perrenials they should be ardy enough after the first year to survive through the roots. its they arent hardy in your area then measures would probably have to be taken. such as digging them out and potting them. i've heard that mulching can prevent the ground from freezing, thus leaving the roots relatively safe. i've also seen people take special garden tarps to cover up the ground and prevent them from freezing. im no pro or anything, i usually just replant everything each year. and whatever comes back in spring, comes back. whatever doesnt then oh well i probably ws'd more of them anyway. lol

• ms_minnamouse
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I meant, what do you do with the young perennials that you have in containers that you never put in the ground. The whole container freezes.

• mnwsgal
    15 years ago

I stick the whole container in the ground and cover with mulch.

• tiffy_z5_6_can
    15 years ago

Not the best photo but behind our home I have a 'holding bed'. In the photo you can see some Echinaceas from 2007 and other perennials in front of the Dahlias. They were placed there, pot and all late in 2007 and this photo is from August 2008. It's good to always have an area where you can plant such things as Dahlias and when removing them in the fall you can place some wsn babies which haven't gone in the gardens. Then cover them up with leaves and let them sleep over the winter.

{{gwi:343886}}

• terrene