Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bill_59texas

Using wood chips-good, bad, or ugly?

bill_59texas
11 years ago

Thru the years there's been many posts here about wood chips and how or if they should be used. The link below is one of the more interesting articles i've read...

http://tomclothier.hort.net/page24.html

Comments (22)

• Lloyd
    11 years ago

I think it is possible to find all sorts of anecdotal evidence about wood chips and their by-products. Just like there are some on here that post inaccurate information. Sure it can make for interesting reading, but I wouldn't bet the farm on it.

Lloyd

• Kimmsr
    11 years ago

That reads like what I have been telling people here to do for about the last 25 years, add organic matter to your soil. That OM can be wood chips, shrerdded leaves, straw, compost, even peat moss if you have a lot of money to throw away.
    The best organic matter you can put in your soil is what you can get for free. Next is organic matter that has nutrients to feed the plants you want to grow. The yard waste you generate should be recycled on site and never thrown away since that wastes valuable nutrients that yard wste removed from your soil.
    The link attached will take you to a video, about an hour and one half long, that will pretty much tell you the same thing Tom Clothier wrote, if one needs some more information.

Here is a link that might be useful: Back To Eden video

• annpat
    11 years ago

Ugly. Unless you live in a wood lot.

• emgardener
    11 years ago

Beauty in some eyes!

Here is a link that might be useful: Wood Chip Bed

• Mojo_Soil
    11 years ago

The Good: Provides organic matter and carbon over time. Keeps the soil cool, helps the soil retain moisture, and acts as a natural weed barrier.